How to delete private information from Google search results

  • Google has a feature that alerts you when your personal information is published online.
  • You can pair this feature with the Remove Result tool to make it harder for people to find it online.
  • This doesn’t clear the information from the Internet, but it does make it not appear when your name is searched on Google.

In this illustration, the Google logo is displayed on a smartphone.

Omar Marquez | SOPA Photos | Rocket Lite | Getty Images

If you Google your name, address, or phone number, you might be surprised at the number of results you see with your personal information. There’s a hidden feature in Google that will alert you when it finds these results, allowing you to remove them.

Google has about 83% of the search market, according to Statista, far ahead of competitors like Microsoft Bing, Yahoo or DuckDuckGo. This means that if people are searching for your information, they’ll likely try Google first.

This approach is different from simply asking Google to remove private results. Instead, this feature proactively searches for your phone number, email, and home address and will alert you when it finds something. Then, you can just ask Google to remove it from search results.

Note: Google doesn’t remove your information from the Internet, but it deletes it from Google search and makes it harder for people to find it.

Heres how to do it.

Google will notify you when your personal information is published online.

Google

It’s really easy to ask Google to alert you if it finds your personal information. You just need to know where to look. Start by making sure you’re signed in to Google.

  • Open your web browser and type myactivity.google.com/results-about-you.
  • Select “Results to review.”
  • Select “Get Started” and press “Next” twice.
  • Add your personal information: name, address, phone number and email. You can add multiple entries for each one.
  • Confirm this is all your information.
  • Choose how you want to be notified. You can choose email or push notifications, or both.
  • Finally, you’ll see a pop-up that says: “We’re taking a look.”
See also  Last day to shop great deals on laptops, TVs, tablets and more at Best Buy

Now just wait for the notifications from Google. When you get one, you can choose to have Google remove it from Google search or choose to leave it behind. It’s up to you.

Pro Tip: If you make any mistakes, or want to go back and edit, just go back toresults “Information about you” and make changes.

That’s it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *