College Football Award Winners 2022: USC QB Caleb Williams Wins Maxwell, Walter Camp Awards


There will be no Heisman Trophy Offered until Saturday night, college football should spend an evening giving away the game’s most notable hardware for individuals on Thursday night. It’s a night of honors for linemen, specialists, talent positions, quarterbacks, coaches and, yes, even some players of the year that indicate what’s to come this weekend.

USC Caleb Williams took home both the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Award, both given to college football’s player of the year. He is the fourth USC player to win the Maxwell Award and the first since Marcus Allen won the Heisman Trophy in 1981. Williams was there CBS Sportsman of the Year In this season.

Max Duggan, along with fellow Heisman Trophy finalists Caleb Williams and C.J. He beat out Stroud for the Davey O’Brien Award, given to the nation’s top quarterback. TCU. Sunny Dykes won the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, and cornerback Trevius Hodges-Tomlinson became the second TCU player in three years to win the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation’s top defensive back. . Although the award was presented earlier in the week, the honors followed TCU offensive coordinator Garrett Riley winning the Broyles Award as the nation’s top assistant.

Alabama Linebacker Will Anderson took home the Bronko Nagurski Trophy for the second straight season as Defensive Player of the Year, and added the Bednarik Award — given to the Defensive Player of the Year — to his impressive list of accolades. Michigan Center Olu Oluwatimi was also a multiple award winner on the evening, receiving the Rimington Award as the nation’s top center and the Outland Trophy as the nation’s top interior lineman.

See also  Judge Clarence Thomas accepted multiple luxury trips paid for by GOP megadonor, ProPublica report finds

See the full list of winners for the 2022 college football season below:

Award Type 2022 winner
Maxwell Award Player of the year Caleb Williams, USC
Walter Camp Award Player of the year Caleb Williams, USC
Home Depot Award Coach of the Year Sonny Dykes, TCU
Jim Thorpe Award Great defensive back Tre’vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU
Davy O’Brien Award Great quarterback Max Duggan, TCU
Rimington Award Excellent center Olu Oluwatimi, Michigan
Lou Grossa Award Great placekicker Christopher Dunn, NC State
Butkus Award Great linebacker Jack Campbell, Iowa
Doug Walker Award Great running back Bijan Robinson, Texas
Biletnikoff Award Great wide receiver Jalan Hayat, Tennessee
John Mackie Award Excellent tight end Brock Bowers, Georgia
Outland Trophy Best interior lineman Olu Oluwatimi, Michigan
Ray Guy Award Best punter Adam Korczak, Rutgers
Petnarik Award Defensive Player of the Year Will Anderson, Alabama
Bronco Nagurski Trophy Defensive Player of the Year Will Anderson, Alabama
Burlsworth Cup Great former walk-on Stetson Bennett, Georgia
Disney Spirit Award Very encouraging Tile Crafts, North Carolina
William V. Campbell Trophy Academic Heisman Jack Campbell, Iowa
Wuerffel Trophy Social service Dillon Gibbons, State of Florida
Broyles Award Best assistant coach Garrett Riley, TCU

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *