Will Anderson wins Defensive Player of the Year

The Texans' jump from the bottom of the AFC South in 2022 to the top of the division in 2023 had a lot to do with what happened at the top of the first round of the draft last April.

Quarterback CJ Stroud was selected with the second overall pick and the Texans traded up to the Cardinals for the third overall pick. They used it to select defensive end Will Anderson and both picks turned out to be on the field.

Anderson was named Defensive Player of the Year at the NFL Honors ceremony in Las Vegas on Thursday night. Stroud was named the previous offensive rookie of the year, making the Texans the second straight team to sweep the rookie awards as the Jets did with Garrett Wilson and Sauce Gardner last season.

This is the fourth time one team has been named winners.

Anderson had 45 tackles, seven sacks, 10 tackles for loss and 22 quarterback hits in 15 games for the Texans this season. He received 16 out of 50 first place votes, 21 second place votes and eight third place votes.

Eagles defensive tackle Jalen Carter and Rams defensive tackle Coby Turner each received 14 first-place votes, but Carter edged out Turner for second place thanks to more second- and third-place picks. Seahawks cornerback Devon Witherspoon and Steeler cornerback Joey Porter rounded out the top five with Bucs edge rusher YaYa Diaby, Lions safety Brian Brnach, Lions linebacker Jack Campbell, Rams linebacker Byron Young and Bucs defensive end Calijah Kancey also receiving votes.

See also  Grizzlies vs. Score

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *