USC quarterback Caleb Williams wins the 2022 Heisman Trophy


University of Southern California’s Caleb Williams was announced Saturday night as the 2022 Heisman Trophy winner.

The 20-year-old sophomore led the Trojans to an 11-2 record in his first season in Los Angeles after transferring from the University of Oklahoma. He threw for 4,075 yards, 37 touchdowns and only four interceptions.

Williams beat out Texas Christian University Horned Frogs quarterback Max Duggan, Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback CJ Strode and Georgia Bulldogs quarterback Stetson Bennett to win the coveted college football award.

In her acceptance speech, Williams praised the other three finalists and credited her parents, teammates and coaches for being able to win the award.

“If you’re willing to put in the work and surround yourself with positive people, you can accomplish anything,” Williams said. “I used to write down my goals in a journal and the words on a piece of paper were what made me stand here today. So everyone, dreams really do come true. Thank you. Keep fighting!”

Williams is the seventh Trojan to win the award and the first since quarterback Matt Leinert in 2004.

Former Trojan running back Reggie Bush won the award in 2005, but it was stripped after an NCAA investigation found Bush received impermissible benefits, including several thousand dollars and a vehicle while attending the school.

Last year, Bush said, after the NCAA approved a new policy allowing student athletes to earn money through their names, pictures and likenesses. Trophy is non-refundable.

See also  US predicts war in Ukraine in winter; Allies improve air defenses

Williams’ Heisman Award capped off a season in which USC finished short College Football Playoff.

Williams suffered a hamstring injury last week in the Trojans’ loss to the University of Utah in the Pac-12 championship game. It’s unclear if he will play in the team’s Jan. 2 game against Tulane in the Cotton Bowl at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *