The expansion of the college football playoffs has been put on hold, with the current four-team format until 2026

The College Football Playoff announced Friday that its current four-team format will continue at the end of the current contract, which expires following the 2025 season. There is speculation that the CFP may be expanded to the proposed 12-team format before the current contract expires.

“As stated in CFP’s original 12-year plan, the board of managers has accepted the management’s recommendation to continue the current four – team game for the next four years,” said Bill Hankok, managing director of College Football. “At the same time, the board expects the board to continue discussions on the new format, which will take effect in the 2026-27 season.”

The four-member subcommittee of the CFP executive announced in June that it had developed a 12-panel format. That format would allow the top six conference champions to win berths at any conference. The remaining six bids will be large bids determined by the CFP selection committee. Two weeks after the conference championships, the first round matches will be played on the High School campus, and the quarterfinals will be held on January 1 or 2. The first four tickets will have bags in the proposed format. .

Several events have taken place since that announcement that changed the landscape of college football, including a major restructuring bonus that began when the SEC announced the addition of Oklahoma and Texas in July.

“Although the decision to extend the current 12-year contract did not lead to an early expansion proposal, the discussions were helpful and informative. I hope they will be a useful guide for the board of managers.

See also  McCarthy says US debt ceiling 'on track' ahead of Biden meeting

The committee did not vote in a 12-group format in September, but could discuss possible alternatives in Grapevine, Texas, on December 1. It met three days apart in Indianapolis in January ahead of the College Football Playoff National Championships, but no decision has been made on that either.

“I was disappointed,” Big 12 Commissioner Bob Powellsby said at the time. “We have rooted problems and they are not closer than they were to be solved [before our meetings]. “

The current four-team format was established following the 2014 season. It takes the first four teams voted on by the CFP selection committee and places them in two of the six bowl games. Those bowl games are Rose, Sugar, Cotton, Orange, Fiesta and Peach. The semifinals will rotate through six bowls in a three-year cycle.

“I am very humbled and proud to partner with CFP as a New Year’s Six Bowl game, and look forward to hosting the CFP semi – finals at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl in 2022 and 2025,” Beach Bowl President Gary Stocken told CBS Sports. “We support the CFP Board of Management and the Board of Management in their current decision and look forward to continuing to work with CFP to bring back college football as it is the most charitable bowl organization in college football.”

The Peach Bowl and the Fiesta Bowl will be the semifinals for the upcoming season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *