List of 2023 LA Film Critics Awards Winners – The Hollywood Reporter

Voting is currently being conducted by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association for its annual awards.

It was called the Society of Critics Anatomy of a fall And Area of ​​interest Star Sandra Holler and Bad things Actress Emma Stone as best performer of the year. Rachel McAdams and Devian Joy Randolph received awards for Outstanding Supporting Performances Are you there, God? It’s me, Margaret And keepers, respectively.

Last year, the organization voted on two films for the year’s top award: Everything everywhere at once And tar. The former won Best Picture at the 95th Academy Awards in March. This year’s winners will be honored at the organization’s annual banquet on January 13, 2024.

The association previously announced that Agnieszka Holland will be honored at an in-person celebration with this year’s Career Achievement Award. The Polish director and three-time Oscar nominee has been attacked by the right-wing Polish government over her film Green borderwhich details the horrific conditions faced by migrants trying to cross into Poland from Belarus.

Ahead of this year’s LA Film Critics Awards, Martin Scorsese took home the award for Best Picture Moonflower Killers It won Best Picture at the New York Film Critics Circle and National Board of Review Awards.

Most years, the organization’s selection for Best Picture results in an Academy Award nomination for that night’s top prize. For the second year in a row, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards will include gender-neutral acting categories.

See also  Menendez's siblings allege their father sexually assaulted them with new evidence

Hollywood Reporter The list below will be updated with the 2023 LAFCA winners as they are announced. Update to get the latest.

Best picture:
runner up:

Best Director: Jonathan Glazer Area of ​​interest
Runner-up: Yorgos Lanthimos, Bad things

Most notable performances: Sandra Höller, Anatomy of a fall And Area of ​​interest And Emma Stone, Bad things
Runner-up: Andrew Scott, We are all strangers Jeffrey Wright, American fantasy

Supporting performances: Rachel McAdams, Are you there, God? It’s me, Margaret And Davin Joy Randolph, Retainers
Runner-up: Lily Gladstone, Moonflower Killers And Ryan Gosling, Barbie

Best Screenplay: Andrew Hay, We are all strangers
Runner-up: Sammy Burch, May December

Best Cinematography: Robbie Ryan, Bad things
Runner-up: Rodrigo Brito, Moonflower Killers And Barbie

Best Editing: Laurent Senechal Anatomy of a fall
Runner-up: Jonathan Alberts, We are all strangers

Best Production Design: Winner: Sarah Greenwood, Barbie
Runners-up: Shauna Heath and James Price. Bad things

Best Music/Score: Mica Levi, Area of ​​interest
Runners-up: Mark Ronson and Andrew White, Barbie

Best Foreign Language Film:
runner up:

Best Documentary/Factual Film: Delightful menus – Les Troisgros
runner up: Eternal memory

Best animation: The boy and the heron
runner up: Robot dreams

New Generation Award:

Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award: Wang Ping youth (spring)

Career Achievement Award: Agnieszka Holland

The organization was founded in 1975 and consists of critics working in Los Angeles in print and electronic media organizations such as daily and weekly newspapers, magazines, and online general interest publications. The annual awards celebrate the people in front of and behind the camera.

See also  Jada Pinkett Smith (sort of) addresses the slap in the return of 'Red Table Talk'

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *