The PS5 will make it easier to know your game options before you buy

The PlayStation Store is about to get a solid upgrade to sort this week with accessibility tags, a new list of descriptors developers can install on games to highlight their accessibility support, Sony Advertise in a blog post this week.

Read more: PS5 is getting a customizable Super Controller that lets new gamers play

The tags are meant to “provide detailed insight into which accessibility features are supported in games,” according to the Sony post. When the feature rolls out globally this week, you’ll simply be able to press Triangle on your DualShock and DualSense controllers when browsing a game on the PlayStation Store to see the list of accessibility tags it has before making a purchase.

There are “over 50” access tags

Sony has confirmed that the PlayStation Store will have “more than 50 accessibility tags available for game developers to choose from”. They’re spread across six different categories – Audio, Control, Gameplay, Online Communication, Subtitles & Commentary, and Visual – with features to change button assignments, color, game speed, volume and audio direction, text, quick time events, and so on. Much more. You can see the categories less:

  • Visible Accessibility features, such as clear text, large text, color alternatives, audio cues, and directional audio indicators.
  • My voice Features, such as volume controls, mono audio, screen reader, and visual cue alternatives.
  • Subtitle and caption options, including subtitle size, clear captions, and large captions.
  • controls Options, including button remapping, joystick sensitivity, and the ability to play without button presses, quick button presses, or motion control.
  • Play Options, such as difficulty settings, skippable puzzles, simplified quick time events, and game speed.
  • Online communication Options, such as copying text or voice chat and ping calling.

Kotaku I have reached out to Sony for comment.

In terms of games that explicitly support accessibility tags, the list is not very extensive at the moment. you have death strand And God of War RagnarokBeside Days passed And return. But other than that, that’s it. Despite this, Sony said they’re “just beginning to roll out this feature,” so you’ll definitely see other PlayStation games get accessibility tags. For now, you can see the full list of games that support this new feature below:

  • Days passed
  • Death Stranding director cut
  • Ghost Cut Tsushima director
  • God of War
  • God of War Ragnarok
  • Gran Turismo 7
  • Spider-Man Remaster from Marvel
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales
  • Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart
  • return

Read more: The Last of Us Part One The new Remake options provide a reason for the game to exist

Sony’s first-party studios like Naughty Dog and Sucker Punch have done some great things in terms of accessibility options in their games. The Last of Us Part One He is A shining example of what a great set of accessibility options looks like, something the industry should work towards standardizing. And Ghost of Tsushima added Improved combat alerts, increasing the volume on the on-screen indicators so you can decide when it’s time to dribble or parry. While the list of games that support accessibility tags isn’t the most impressive, it’s still great to see the creator of PlayStation continue to stress the work of making games an option for everyone. We need that.

See also  PlayStation 5 sales top 38 million after its best year on the market

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *