The Indian Cricket Board has announced a prize of INR 125 crore for the World T20 Cricket Champions in India

The ICC had already announced a cash prize of US$ 2.45 million for the winners of this T20 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma and Co will get more than just a glittering trophy for their efforts in the USA and West Indies. Creamas

The BCCI will award the Indian team that wins the T20 World Cup a bonus of INR 125 crore (approximately US$15 million). Board secretary Jay Shah made the announcement in a post on Twitter, a day after India won a thrilling final against South Africa by seven runs in Barbados.

“I am delighted to announce a prize money of INR 125 crore for Team India to win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024,” Shah posted. “The team has shown exceptional talent, determination and sportsmanship throughout the tournament. Congratulations to all the players, coaches and support staff on this outstanding achievement!”

The ICC has already announced a cash prize of US$2.45 million for the World Cup winners and an additional US$31,154 for each match won (per team), excluding the semi-finals and final. The ICC cash prize is the highest in the history of the Men’s T20 World Cup, a jump of US$850,000 from the US$1.6 million won by England in 2022.

Overall, all teams will receive more prizes/participation money from this tournament than before. The tournament’s total prize money has doubled from US$5.6 million in 2022 to US$11.25 million this year, meaning an increase in prize money for all 20 participating teams.

As runners-up, South Africa won US$1.28 million (up from US$800,000 in 2022), while semi-final losers Afghanistan and England received US$787,500 (up from US$400,000 in 2022) each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *