Jordan Spieth was disqualified from Genesis for signing the wrong score

LOS ANGELES — Jordan Spieth was disqualified after the second round of the Genesis Invitational on Friday for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Spieth, a three-time major champion, caught a par on the 245-yard par-3 fourth hole at Riviera Country Club, but made bogey after missing a 5-foot putt.

Spieth admitted the mistake Later on Friday in a post on X.

“Today I signed up for an incorrect scorecard and walked out of the scoring area, after thinking I went through all the procedures to verify it,” wrote Spieth, who won an NCAA title with Texas at Riviera. “Rules are rules, and I take full responsibility. I love this tournament and the golf course as much as any on the @PGATOUR, so it hurts not to run on the weekend. Really appreciate the support in LA.”

After an opening-round 5-under 66 on Thursday, Spieth shot a 2-over 73 on Friday before disqualification.

After a double bogey on the 18th hole dropped him back to 3 under for the tournament, Spieth quickly fist-pumped his playing partners and their caddies before sprinting up the stairs to the Riviera Club.

Earlier in the day, Sky Sports reported that Spieth was not feeling well.

In 2022, Spieth was disqualified from the JP McManus Pro-Am because he caught his ball on the 14th green before teeing off. Spieth believed he did not need to finish the hole because his score would not count for the team portion. However, the Pro-am competition also featured an individual pro leaderboard, and Spieth was disqualified for not completing the hole.

See also  Kenley Janssen saves Atlanta Braves on their debut at Dodger Stadium, and it was Freddy Freeman's last appearance.

This season, Spieth has two top-10 finishes, including a third-place finish at The Sentry in Hawaii. Friday's round of 73 was Spieth's worst of the season and was only his second round in 2024 in the 70s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *