Foo Fighters has announced their first new album since the death of drummer Taylor Hawkins

(CNN) Foo Fighters learn to fly without the drummer Taylor Hawkins.

Just over a year after Hawkins passed away in Columbia while on tour with the band, the Foo Fighters announced Wednesday that they will be releasing a new album, “But Here We Are,” this summer. Their first single, “Rescued”, was made available along with the advertisement.

In a press release, The band said the album comes “after a year of incredible losses, personal reflection and bittersweet memories”.

Their statement continued: “A heartfelt, heartfelt, heartfelt response to everything the Foo Fighters have endured over the past year, ‘But Here We Are’ is a testament to the healing powers of music, friendship, and family.”

Hawkins was a beloved member of the Foo Fighters for over two decades before his shocking death in March of 2022 at the age of fifty. We are forever.”

Six months after Hawkins’ death, the Foo Fighters paid tribute to their bandmate by hosting Two commemorative ceremonies in London and Los Angeles. Paul McCartney, Liam Gallagher and Brian May were among the biggest names to appear at London’s Wembley Stadium.

In January, Foo Fighters shared on Instagram that They plan to continue with the bandsaying, “Without Taylor, we wouldn’t have become the band we were—and without Taylor, we know we’d be a different band going forward.”

“And we know that when we see you again—and we will be soon—he will be there in spirit with us all every night.”

With Wednesday’s announcement of new music, it looks like they’ve delivered on their promise.

See also  Tony Bennett, Jazzy Croner of the American Songbook, Is Dead at 96

The announcement described the band’s eleventh studio album as “the sound of brothers finding refuge in the music that brought them together in the first place 28 years ago, a process that has been as therapeutic as it has been about continuing life.” A response to the sounds of the Foo Fighters’ 1995 self-titled debut album.

“But Here We Are” will include 10 tracks and is set to be released on June 2.

CNN’s Hafsa Khalil contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *