Caitlin Clark and Angel Reese named to the WNBA All-Star team

Good pictures

Caildyn Clark, left, and Angel Reese are the first two rookie WNBA All-Stars in the same season since 2014.


Rookies Caitlin Clark of the Indiana Fever and Angel Reese The Chicago Sky were named to their first WNBA All-Star team in the league declared tuesday

It’s the first time since 2014 that two rookies have been WNBA All-Stars in the same season.

Reese, who was named the WNBA Rookie of the Month for June, was emotional when she learned of her All-Star selection.

“I’m so happy,” she told reporters through tears. “All the work I put in, coming into this league, a lot of people doubted me — didn’t think my game would translate, I wouldn’t be the player I was in college … I trusted the process, I trusted.”

Against the Atlanta Dream on Tuesday, Reese recorded his 11th straight double-double — extending his single-season league record — with 19 rebounds in the Sky’s 85-77 victory. She is now tied with Candace Parker’s all-time record for double-doubles accomplished in two seasons.

Clarke, meanwhile, was named a rookie in May and has continued to draw huge crowds during her time in the WNBA. On Tuesday, 20,366 watched his flurry in an 88-69 victory over the Las Vegas Aces, the fifth-largest crowd in league history and the largest since 1999.

“I don’t think I’ve ever been her teammate before, even in USA Basketball,” Clark said of teaming up with Reese, a former college rival. ESPN. “I know people are going to be really excited about it, but I’m sure it’s not going to be taken away from everyone.

See also  Ohio rejects Issue 1, a constitutional amendment intended to block the abortion movement

“Obviously, it’s a very difficult thing to accomplish, so we’re going to be able to celebrate all of them and obviously soak up the experience, because you never know if you’re ever going to get it. Back there, it’s going to be fun for all of us.”

The 12-woman team WNBA roster includes two-time All-Star Aliyah Boston (Fever), four-time All-Star Arik Ogunbowale (Dallas Wings) and nine-time All-Star Neneka Okwumike (Seattle Storm).

Team WNBA will face the USA Basketball Women’s National Team on July 20 at the Footprint Center in Phoenix.

Six-time All-Star Aja Wilson of the Las Vegas Aces headlines Team USA’s squad for the 20th All-Star Game. Wilson is joined by six-time All-Star Breanna Stewart (New York Liberty), 11-time All-Star Diana Tarasi (Phoenix Mercury) and 10-time All-Star Brittney Griner (Mercury).

This will be the second time that the All-Star Game has featured USA Basketball vs. Team WNBA format.

In 2021, the WNBA beat Team USA 93-85 in Las Vegas ahead of the Tokyo Olympics.

The All-Stars were chosen by fans (50% of votes), current WNBA players (25%) and a panel of national broadcasters and sportswriters (25%).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *