|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Questionable third-party content on DevH
I've found navigating to DevH a few times now, that Chrome will stop me and warn me that DevH contains elements from a website www.ripping.org, which apparently has in the past served malware.
Google's explanation is here. |
|
||||
|
Nice find, arch.
Ripping.org is The World Overclocking Database. Something like hwbot but on a different level taking a whole new approach. That is the place where Brian y. hosts his signature. I mean, its dynamically generated based on his latest achievements, scores, team statistics, and all that. Now there are two solutions, one is contacting Brian and explaining him the situation. He couldn't possible know this or be aware of. Removing that signature (or hosting it another place or chaging or anything else) part will alleviate this situation. This a quick fix and the warning will disappear right away because the member's (Brian y.) signature won't get queried anymore. The another solution might be contacting the Ripping.org's domain administer - making the admin aware of the situation. S/he might not know what the hell happened. The site might have been attacked and using code injections, iframes, and other malicious techniques, it could have been easily used for 'hosting malware.' And then it might have been reported, Google sticked the 'warned' note and be done with it. That's all. Once its source is located, the problem can be cleared up. Of course, it takes a while until Google's web crawlers/spider bots revisit the problematic site (ripping.org), but then that warning should disappear. Google's Team can also be emailed asking for a speedy revisit of their bot, explaining the situation, its cause and solution. Things like this can happen - no one is responsible for this and it's pretty sensitive. Domain Name:RIPPING.ORG Created On:17-Oct-2001 12:45:20 UTC Last Updated On:30-Aug-2008 10:40:06 UTC Expiration Date:17-Oct-2010 12:45:20 UTC Sponsoring Registrar:CSL Computer Service Langenbach GmbH d/b/a joker.com a German GmbH (R25-LROR) Registrant Name:Gianni Kraettli Registrant Street1:Bueelstrasse 82 Registrant Phone:+055.4403587 Registrant Email:gianni@ripping.org A while ago we did report such an attack at a Romanian premier business magazine's website. While we recognized the code injection early, reported, and the person in charge fixed the problem, it did not got seen by the spiders of search industries such as Google's or anti-malware business such as WOT. Once a site gets marked as 'dangerous' if it's not cleared out fast, it can affect its popularity, and therefore its view-count, hits, PR, and overall income takes a huge hit. So they were pretty thankful of our speedy approach. I've posted the full disclosure of this on TLTE back then. ![]() EDIT: Oh, and by the way; all of this can be a child's play if you contact PrimeRanks. We alleviate defamation and improve rankings, hehe. ![]() EDIT2: Brian y.'s signature is hosted at: http://colardyn-it.be/storage/signature_u5693.png - that domain seems alright. The "dangerously" marked page that is apparently queried and used as part of DevH Forums is the following: http://www.ripping.org/signature.php%3Fusername%3DBrian%2520y. -- which seems like a signature query via ripping.org - therein lies my assumption. But it doesn't exist; it's not a valid link. But it leads to Brian's name. Something is wrong with his signature. Perhaps that colardyn hosting place queries the hwbot results via ripping.org - I have no idea. To figure out I'd need to know the exact line that appear in Brian's signature. ![]()
__________________
“Greatness, combined with the hint of a 24-carat lifestyle, is within us striving to make it through, craving for attention, and in the end, recognition, leaving a record worthy of biography on forging success stories.” —ME Check out MadHyeNa's Article Index. I succeed, conquer, and achieve, therefore I am.™ Last edited by madhyena : October 17th, 2009 at 05:28 PM. |
|
||||
|
Phew! One problem solved. Now if we could just get you to answer your phone once in a while.
![]()
__________________
Scripting problems? Windows questions? Ask the Windows Guru! Stay up to date with all of my latest content. Follow me on Twitter! Help us help you! Post your exact error message with these easy tips! |
![]() |
| Viewing: Dev Hardware Forums > Forum Information > Suggestions & Feedback > Questionable third-party content on DevH |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|
|